MRN Radio Honored with 26 Awards

NMPA FullSizeRender.jpgMotor Racing Network (MRN) – “The Voice of NASCAR” – has been honored by the National Motorsports Press Association (NMPA) with 26 awards in 13 categories for broadcast excellence during the 2016 season, including first place in the Live Event Broadcast category for the fourth year in a row.

Motor Racing Network won that historic award for the Daytona 500 and followed that with a third place in the Live Event Broadcast category for the November race from Phoenix.  Mike Bagley, turn announcer on MRN’s race broadcasts and host of MRN’s Tuesday night “NASCAR Live,” as well as “The Morning Drive” on Sirius/XM NASCAR Radio, was named Broadcaster of the Year. Rich Culbreth, producer of “NASCAR Live,” was named Radio Producer of the Year.

MRN was recognized as the NMPA’s annual convention wrapped up in Concord, N.C. The network swept the top three spots in Topic Oriented Feature Radio and Event Oriented Feature Radio.  They also grabbed first and third place awards in Spot News. Winners included MRN’s Tyler Burnett, Ryan Horn, David Hyatt, Winston Kelley, Dave Moody, Brian Nelson and Darrell Smith.

“We’re humbly grateful for this recognition,” said MRN President and Executive Producer David Hyatt. “These awards reflect the hard work and dedication of our broadcast team, as they continue to support our mission of providing the Most Trusted and Authentic Motorsports Coverage.”

In addition to being named Radio Broadcaster of the Year, Bagley won first place in the Spot News category for his work on “NASCAR Live.” In Event-oriented Feature Radio, he and Culbreth teamed up again for top honors.

“I’m totally speechless, said Bagley.  “Receiving this award is quite overwhelming. From the day I started in this business, I have always tried to do my best at broadcasting a sport I grew up loving.  To be recognized by my peers is quite an honor.”

This year, MRN’s Digital content also took home NMPA glass. Three of the company’s digital video programs on MRN.com won awards including first place to Producers Robbie Mays and Tyler Burnett (Wood Brothers Museum), second-place awards for both Steve Post/Craig Moore (Winged Nation) and Woody Cain (Motorsports Monday).  The daily website and mobile app also scored a victory for webmaster Jeff Wackerlin in the Portrait/Personality Photography category.

“I often tell people that if you are in the media business, you have to be in the multimedia business,” said Hyatt.  “We have embraced the role that Digital Content plays in our sport and these awards validate our commitment to the ever-changing new media marketplace.”

Motor Racing Network will launch its 48th season of NASCAR coverage from Daytona Beach, Fla., with live flag to flag broadcast of the season-opening Advance Auto Parts Clash special event on Feb. 18.  MRN will be the home to all of DAYTONA Speedweeks, culminating with the 59th running of the Daytona 500 on Feb. 26.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s